Sunday, Sunday

Veeraphol

If I were working in an office, chances are I wouldn’t be working weekends. So when I’ve got the chance to take a weekend off, I have no problem doing so. I’ve got plenty of work to do but frankly, I feel like shit and would prefer to use today to power up in preparation for the next few days.

I did write two articles today though, one for Ring Magazine, the other for the Phuket Gazette. I wrote the articles with mixed emotions as they were both about Veeraphol Sahaprom’s last fight with Vusi Malinga and possibly his last fight ever. I interviewed Sahaprom a few year’s ago and found him to be an intense, serious individual who was dedicated to his craft. To see him battered from pillar to post and hear he shed tears after the bout is the sort of drama I take no joy in writing about. But – at least he knows where he stands in the pecking order of the bantamweight division.

***

The next few days will be spent writing a few articles, working on my expat guide book, Muay Thai book and trying to get a couple fighters bouts abroad. I’ve got a massive headache – I have these every couple of days – and it takes alot for me to work when I feel like throwing up from a headache. Couple this with the pain I’m in and you might get the picture.

A few years ago I had a rather nasty fall from about 40 feet up and I’ve never felt quite the same. Not a day goes but when I’m not in some sort of pain; neck pain (cracked vertebrae), wrist pain (fractured wrist), hand pain (broken hands) a knee (football injury) that collapses out from under me every so often…I’m sure I’m forgetting some places but right now they don’t hurt. Tomorrow is Monday and without sounding negative, I hate Mondays!

Leave a comment